Esport

It’s a thrilling match. For an hour, the world’s two best teams have been facing off, five against five. Their input devices are in constant action, up to 400 times per minute, as each player looks to make the perfect move. They create an atmosphere of absolute focus and high tension. The voice of the commentator races, the viewers can hardly stay in their seats, the arena is trembling. What has the crowd here so enthralled is a final match – between the world’s best esports competitors.
 

ESL One Cologne 2017
Foto: ESL | Helena Kristiansson

Esports: that’s the name for competition that takes place in computer and video games. In recent years, esports have developed from a niche activity into a mass phenomenon. As recently as the late 1990s, digital sports were largely unknown outside of gaming circles. Today, millions of people watch the competitions via livestreams and in packed arenas. The cash prizes at stake in international championships in some cases run into the eight figures. In many places, esports athletes enjoy a status otherwise reserved for film or pop stars. But what exactly are esports? What are their distinguishing characteristics?

“When you deal intensively with esports, you’re dealing not just with teams, leagues and platforms, but above all with one thing: culture!”
– Toan Nguyen, Executive Director and Partner at Jung von Matt/SPORTS

 

The term esports (sometimes called electronic sports, e-sports or eSports) denotes competition between two or more people playing computer and video games according to fixed rules. Years of hard, sustained training precede a professional gaming career – pro play demands physical and mental performance at an extremely high level. Esports are based on computer and video games in which individual players and teams – also known as clans – can compete. Esports are thus an embodiment of the core elements of computer and video games and a setting in which important components of games culture can be experienced: digital sports are about the social moment, about playing with one another, coordinating and working together as a team. And esports are just as internationally positioned as computer and video games themselves are. People from around the world can play together at any time. Esports teams have long comprised players from all parts of the globe and tournaments are held internationally.
 

League of Legends 2015 World Championship Finals in der Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin
© Riot Games

The most popular esports titles include real-time strategy games and multiplayer online battle arena games (MOBA) like ‘Dota 2’ and ‘League of Legends’, as well as tactical shooters such as ‘Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS: GO)’. Sports simulations like ‘FIFA’, ‘PES’ and ‘NBA 2K’ are also popular, as are racing simulations (SimRacing). Around these game genres, numerous leagues and tournaments have been established over the years in which esports athletes compete at the national and international levels. Events like the League of Legends World Championship, ESL One and The International can fill whole stadiums.
 

Ever more frequently, even traditional broadcasters like ProSieben MAXX and SPORT1 are carrying the major esports events on television. In January 2019, SPORT1 launched the first esports station in the German-speaking world: eSPORTS1. Millions of viewers also follow the tournaments and leagues via online streaming services like Twitch and Mixer, which have specialised in this content and become an integral part of the esports ecosystem. In addition to this, YouTube and Facebook are increasingly offering esports programming on their platforms. Facebook and the world’s largest esports company, ESL of Cologne, expanded their partnership in February 2019, which will allow esports fans to see all global tournaments on the platform in the future.
 

In Germany, a total of nearly 13 million people tune in to watch esports events – meaning that one in five Germans is familiar with this phenomenon, which has evolved from its beginnings in the 1970s with the game Pong through arcade video game competitions and LAN parties to its present state. Almost half of all 16- to 24-year-olds have viewed esports games. Talking about esports matches and teams or analysing the latest playing strategies has become as commonplace as discussing a football or basketball game.

“We’re reaching a completely new audience that we wouldn’t be able to address so easily with our core business.”

– Alexander Jobst, Head of Marketing and Communications at FC Schalke 04

 

Accordingly, esports have developed and become professionalised at a breathtaking pace in the last several years. Not long ago, gamers used forums and communities to privately arrange dates to meet and play. These gatherings have given rise to both a professional scene with a global market worth billions of dollars and a professionally organised amateur level. Today there are numerous clubs as well as university groups in which esports enthusiasts can organise locally and regionally. The groups provide opportunities for exchange and joint training. The clubs and groups form the basis for strengthening the local amateur leagues and for promoting young talent – and therefore the German esports athletes of tomorrow.
 

A number of important factors are already in place to make Germany into the best location for esports. In Germany, the federal government’s 2018 coalition agreement acknowledges ‘the growing importance of the esports landscape in Germany’ and pledges to facilitate its growth. Since then, it has become easier for esports players from non-EU countries to come to Germany. Many of the individual German states have also taken the first steps towards promoting esports. Nevertheless, there are still reservations about esports, as well as hurdles that will hinder their further development in the country. The priority, however, is to solve the following problems in order to improve the standing of esports in Germany:

  • Official acknowledgement of the non-profit status of clubs offering esports
  • Creating better conditions for esports at the state and community level
  • Promoting talent

The complete position paper from game · esports: Making Germany the best esports location.

Sebastian Steinbach
Referent Politische Kommunikation und Esport
+49 30 240 8779 0

Esport

Es ist ein packendes Match. Seit einer Stunde stehen sich die zwei besten Teams der Welt gegenüber, es spielen fünf gegen fünf. Bis zu 400 Mal bedienen die Spieler ihre Eingabegeräte pro Minute, um den perfekten Zug zu schaffen. Es herrscht höchste Konzentration und Anspannung. Die Stimme des Kommentators überschlägt sich, die Zuschauer hält es nicht mehr auf ihren Sitzen, das Stadion bebt. Was die Menge hier derart begeistert, ist ein Finale. Und zwar eins zwischen den weltbesten Esportlerinnen und Esportler.
 

ESL One Cologne 2017
Foto: ESL | Helena Kristiansson

Esport: Das ist der Wettkampf, der in Computer- und Videospielen ausgetragen wird. Esport hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren von einem Nischen- zu einem Massenphänomen entwickelt. War er Ende der 1990er Jahre noch vorwiegend Gamern bekannt, werden die Wettkämpfe heute von einem Millionenpublikum per Livestream und in ausverkauften Stadien verfolgt. Die Preisgelder, um die auf internationalen Meisterschaften gespielt wird, erreichen teilweise achtstellige Beträge. Die Esportlerinnen und Esportler genießen vielerorts einen Status, der sonst nur Film- oder Popstars vorbehalten ist. Doch was genau ist Esport? Was zeichnet ihn aus?

„Esport-Zuschauer erleben unvergleichliche Dramatik, spannungsgeladene Action und faszinierende Protagonisten. Esport erzählt Geschichten für das 21. Jahrhundert.“
– Arnd Benninghoff, Executive Vice President, MTG AB

 

Der Begriff Esport (auch als „esports“, „eSports“, „e-Sport“ oder „E-Sport“ bezeichnet) bezeichnet den Wettstreit in Computer- und Videospielen unter festgelegten Regeln. Bei Esport geht es um den Wettkampf beziehungsweise das Kräftemessen mit anderen in einer Disziplin. Einer professionellen Gaming-Karriere gehen dabei mehrere Jahre hartes und ausdauerndes Training voraus – von den Profispielern werden enorme körperliche und psychische Leistungen verlangt. Die Basis von Esport bilden Computer- und Videospiele, die wettkampfmäßig von Einzelspielern und Teams – auch Clans genannt – gespielt werden können. Esport verkörpert damit die Kernelemente von Computer- und Videospielen und macht wesentliche Bestandteile der Games-Kultur erfahrbar: Es geht beim digitalen Sport um das soziale Moment, darum, miteinander zu spielen, sich als Team abzustimmen und zusammenzuarbeiten. Dabei ist Esport ebenso international aufgestellt, wie Computer- und Videospiele es sind. Es kann zu jedem Zeitpunkt mit Menschen auf der ganzen Welt gespielt werden. Esport-Teams bestehen längst aus Spielern aus allen Teilen der Erde und Turniere werden international ausgetragen.
 

League of Legends 2015 World Championship Finals in der Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin
© Riot Games

Zu den wichtigsten Esport-Titeln zählen Games wie „League of Legends“ (Riot Games), „Dota 2“ (Valve), „Counter-Strike: Global Offensive“ (Valve), „StarCraft 2“ (Blizzard), „Overwatch“ (Blizzard) oder die „FIFA“-Reihe (Electronic Arts). Rund um solche Echtzeit-Strategiespiele, Taktik-Shooter und Sportsimulationen haben sich im Laufe der Jahre zahlreiche Ligen und Turniere etabliert, in denen Esportlerinnen und Esportler auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene gegeneinander antreten. Events wie die League of Legends World Championship, die ESL One oder The International füllen dabei ganze Stadien.
 

Immer häufiger übertragen auch klassische TV-Sender wie ProSieben MAXX oder SPORT1 die großen Esport-Events im Fernsehen. SPORT1 hat im Januar 2019 hierfür sogar den ersten Esport-Sender im deutschsprachigen Raum gestartet: eSPORTS1. Auch über Online-Streaming-Dienste wie Twitch oder Mixer, die sich auf entsprechende Übertragungen spezialisiert haben und fester Bestandteil des Esport-Ökosystems sind, verfolgen Millionen Zuschauer die Turniere und Ligen. Daneben bieten YouTube und Facebook zunehmend Esport-Übertragungen auf ihren Plattformen an. Facebook und das weltweit größte Esport-Unternehmen, die Kölner ESL, haben hierfür im Februar 2019 ihre Partnerschaft erweitert. Esport-Fans können dadurch künftig alle globalen Turniere auf der Plattform sehen.
 

Insgesamt schalten in Deutschland knapp 13 Millionen Menschen bei Esport-Events ein. Was seinen Anfang in den 1970er Jahren mit dem Spiel Pong, Wettkämpfen an Arcade-Automaten und LAN-Partys nahm, kennt demnach heute jeder fünfte Deutsche. Von den 16- bis 24-Jährigen hat sich knapp jeder Zweite schon Esport-Spiele angeschaut. Sich über Esport-Partien und -Teams auszutauschen oder die neusten Spielstrategien zu analysieren, ist heute so selbstverständlich wie ein Gespräch über Fußball oder Basketball.

„Mit seinen reichweitenstarken Inhalten, einer überwiegend jungen Zielgruppe und einer überdurchschnittlich aktiven Community bietet Esport enormes Potenzial.“

– Ivo Hrstic, Director Digital, Sport1 GmbH

 

Esport hat sich demnach in den vergangenen Jahren rasant entwickelt und professionalisiert. Aus den vormals privat über Foren und Communitys geplanten Spieletreffen von Gamern hat sich im Laufe der Jahre sowohl eine Profiszene mit einem weltweiten Milliardenmarkt entwickelt als auch eine professionell organisierte Amateur-Ebene. Es gibt heute zahlreiche Vereine sowie Hochschulgruppen, in denen sich Esport-begeisterte Hobby-Spielerinnen und -Spieler lokal und regional organisieren. In den Gruppen gibt es die Möglichkeit zum Austausch und gemeinsamen Training. Die Vereine und Gruppen bilden die Basis für die Stärkung der lokalen Amateur-Liga und die Nachwuchsförderung – und damit für die deutschen Esporterlinnen und Esportler von morgen.
 

In Deutschland hat die Bundesregierung mit dem Koalitionsvertrag 2018 die Förderung von Esport samt olympischer Perspektive in Aussicht gestellt. Einfacher wurde seitdem die Einreise und der Aufenthalt für Esportlerinnen und Esporter aus Drittstaaten: Das Auswärtige Amt hat im August 2018 die Einreisebestimmungen für Esport-Athleten aus Nicht-EU-Ländern erleichtert und mit der neuen Beschäftigungsverordnung sind seit März 2020 die Zugangshürden für Esportlerinnen und Esportler nach Deutschland niedriger. Hinsichtlich der Einreise und des Aufenthalts nimmt Deutschland dadurch im internationalen Vergleich eine Vorreiterrolle ein. Für die ganzheitliche Stärkung des Esports fehlt allerdings weiterhin die im Regierungsprogramm versprochene Anerkennung der Gemeinnützigkeit für Esport-Vereine. Während es bei Visafragen um den Spitzensport geht, braucht es die Gemeinnützigkeit für den Breitensport, damit Deutschland auch gesellschaftlich von den vielen positiven Aspekten des eSports profitieren kann.

Sebastian Steinbach
Referent Politische Kommunikation & Esport
+49 30 240 8779 21